Annemiek van Vleuten wins a gritty Omloop het Nieuwsblad in the rainbow stripes

Another remarkable performance from world champion Annemiek van Vleuten saw her win the women’s race at Omloop het Nieuwsblad on Sunday. The Dutch woman attacked at the bottom of the Kapelmuur, 17km from the line, and soloed to the line in characteristic style.

A group of five women had formed after the climb and set about chasing van Vleuten, but with five team represented, the pursuit was not cohesive.

Over the top of the race’s final climb, the Bosberg, Ellen van Dijk, returning to action after a serious crash last season, attacked, though was unable to get away.

However, that move dropped British rider Lizzy Banks (Bigla-Katusha), loving just four riders to chase down a growing lead.

As the race progressed towards the finish in Ninove, and van Vleuten’s advantage grew to over 35 seconds, and the chasers began to look at each other and appeared accept their fate.

With van Vleuten secure over the line, last year’s winner Chantal van den Broke-Blaak (Boels-Dolmans) started her sprint early, however Marta Bastianelli (Alé-BTC Ljubljana) came over the top to take second place ahead of Floortje Mackaij (Sunweb), with van den Broek-Blaak (Boels-Dolmans) fourth.

Riding only her second cobbled classics campaign, and after positioning herself perfectly all day, Banks finished an excellent sixth place.

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad Women: Ghent – Ninove (126.6km)

1. Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton Scott
2. Marta Bastianelli (Ita) Alé-BTC Ljubljana
3. Floortje Mackaij (Ned) Sunweb
4. Chantal van den Broek-Blaak (Ned) Boels-Dolmans)
5. Ellen van Dijk (Ned) Trek Segafredo
6. Lizzy Banks (Gbr) Bigla-Katusha
7. Eugenia Bujak (Slo) Alé- BTC Ljubljana
8. Chloe Hosking (Aus) Rally Cycling
9. Jip van den Bos (Ned) Boels-Dolmans
10. Aude Biannic (Fra) Movistar

This content was originally published here.

Leave a comment
Stay up to date
Register now to get updates on promotions and coupons.

Shopping cart